Sexual Misconduct with a Minor
Sex Crime Attorney Serving Cumming, Dahlonega, & Surrounding Areas
Being convicted of a sex crime against a minor in Georgia tarnishes your
name and can land you in prison for decades. Retaining skilled legal counsel
is important if you have been charged with a sex crime.
The accused can rely on me,
sex crimes attorney Andrew J. Richman, for my dedicated legal counsel. I firmly believe you
are innocent until proven guilty, and I will help strategize a defense
for your case of sexual misconduct with a minor.
Accused of sexual misconduct with a minor? The time to start your defense
strategy is now, even if you haven’t been arrested yet.
Contact me at Richman Law Firm at (678) 829-2826 to begin.
What is the Legal Age of Consent in Georgia?
The legal age of consent in Georgia is 16. In the state, it is illegal to engage in sexual activity with a person
under the age of 16 years old. There are certain exceptions to this law,
including spouses who are at least 18 or their partners under the age
of 20 and within four years of their partner's age. However, regardless
of these exceptions, any sexual activity involving someone under 16 is
strictly prohibited by law.
Defending the Criminally Accused Against Sex Crime Charges in Georgia
“Sexual misconduct with a minor” is a broad category and includes
multiple crimes involving illegal sexual contact initiated by adults to
children under the age of 16.
Specific prohibited sex acts violating Georgia’s age of consent law include:
Statutory rape: Statutory rape is a form of sexual misconduct with a minor in which the
victim is not able to legally consent due to young age. Felony statutory
rape constitutes an adult over the age of 21 having sexual contact with
a victim under the age of 16. Georgia does
not have a close-in-age exemption, commonly known as “Romeo and Juliet
laws,” which prevent individuals from being prosecuted if they are
significantly close in age to the alleged victim. For example, a 15-year-old
still may not consent to sexual activity with a 16 or 17-year-old partner.
However, penalties are generally much less severe if the victims are close in age.
Child molestation: Convictions for this felony charge are penalized by up to life imprisonment.
Child molestation, per Georgia law, involves immoral or indecent acts
performed on a child or within close proximity of a child. Child molestation
may have an aggravating factor if sodomy is involved in any way, or if
the child is physically harmed.
Sexual assault: A person with supervisory or disciplinary control over another person,
such as a teacher and student, may not have sexual contact. Consent is
not a defense, even if the alleged victim was over the age of 16.
Sexual battery: Per Georgia law, sexual battery of a minor is the crime of intentional
physical contact with a child’s intimate parts, defined as the “genitals,
anus, groin, inner thighs, or buttocks of a male or female and breasts
of a female.” Sexual battery may have an aggravating factor if the
person intentionally penetrates the child with a foreign object without
their consent. “Foreign object” is defined as anything “other
than the sexual organ of a person.” A first-time conviction of aggravated
sexual battery of a minor can result in a prison sentence of between 25
years to life, followed by lifelong probation.
Incest: Convictions for adults having sexual relations with a blood-related child
are harshly punished in Georgia. Per Georgia code § 16-6-22, incest
with a child victim under the age of 14 is punishable by up to 50 years
Facing charges of sexual conduct with a minor in Cumming, Dahlonega, or
a surrounding county? Don’t wait to retain a skilled sex crime defense lawyer.
Contact me online or call (678) 829-2826 today.