Cumming DUI Lawyer
Defending Clients Who Have Been Arrested for A DUI in Georgia
Each year, thousands of individuals are involved in
car accidents that are caused by intoxicated drivers. In fact, the numbers are so high
that Georgia law enforcement personnel are always on the lookout for drivers
operating vehicles under the influence. While their intentions of keeping
the roads and highways safe for motorists are mostly good, their actions
can sometimes violate individuals' rights and result in drivers being
wrongly accused. If you have been charged with DUI, you need to contact
a Cumming DUI defense lawyer immediately.
Why Hire Richman Law Firm
- I have experience as a former prosecutor.
- I'm available 24/7 for legal emergencies.
- I provide personalized legal defense strategies.
- I have handled thousands of criminal cases.
100% free, confidential case reviews.
Have you been arrested for a DUI?
Contact Richman Law Firm today to schedule a free consultation with a skilled DUI attorney in Cumming.
"From day one, we knew AJ was the right choice. Our son needed a
great attorney and AJ and his team surpassed that. We were made to feel
like we were his only priority."
Click here to read more of our testimonials!
What are the Penalties for DUI in Georgia?
While the specifics of your case can greatly alter the penalties you are
facing, if you are tried and convicted of DUI, you may face similar consequences
First-Time DUI Conviction
- At least 40 hours of community service required
- Up to 1 year of license suspension
- Fines ranging between $300 and $1,000
- Up to 1 year in jail
Second-Time DUI Conviction
- Mandatory ignition interlock device installation in your vehicle
- License suspension for 3 years
- Completion of an alcohol treatment program
- Up to 1 year in jail
Third-Time DUI Conviction
- Up to 12 months in jail
- Between $1,000 and $5,000 in fines
- License suspension for up to 5 years
- Completion of a treatment program for alcohol
Field Sobriety Tests
The Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST) is made of up 3 individual tests:
Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test - During this test, the officer will move a pen or small object back and
forth and observe the person's eyes to look for signs that they are
under the influence.
Walk-and-turn test - Here, the officer instructs the person to take walk in a straight line,
turn around and then return back.
One-leg stand test - For this test, the officer instructs the person to stand with one foot
in the air and hold it until told to put it down.
What Do Officers Look For When Using The SFST?
The officer is using these tests to look for signs like loss of balance
or not following directions to determine if the person is under the influence
while operating their vehicle. Additionally, officers may ask questions
to assess an individual's memory and alertness. Further testing may
be conducted if any of these signs are present to determine if there is
probable cause to arrest.
Georgia Implied Consent Law
Under Georgia law, while operating a vehicle,
you have given your "implied consent" to submit to chemical testing
of your breath, blood, or urine to determine your blood alcohol concentration
(BAC) if you are arrested for a DUI. You do have the right to refuse these tests but this will lead to an automatic
suspension of your license
If you test over the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit, or
if you refuse to take a chemical test to record your BAC level, Georgia
allows its Department of Driver Services (DDS) to suspend your license
automatically. Stopping this automatic suspension of your driver’s
license should be a priority, as the inability to drive when and where
you want is often seen as the worst consequence of a DUI conviction. Call
678.829.2826 to talk to me – a Forsyth County DUI lawyer – about how to
fight for your license.
How To Prevent Your Georgia License From Being Suspended
Due to a legal update in Georgia, there are two ways you can try to stop
Filing an appeal: You have 30 days from your arrest to file an appeal against the automatic
suspension of your driver’s license. When approved, an administrative
hearing judge will review your statements, driving record, and any information
provided by the arresting officer to see if your license suspension would
Requesting an IID: An ignition interlock device (IID) will not permit you to drive your vehicle
if you have had an alcoholic beverage recently. In July 2017, Georgia
law was changed to allow drivers to petition to get an IID installed in
their cars for at least 12 months to stop the automatic suspension of
their license. Once again, you only have 30 days to request the IID installation
after your date of arrest. If approved, you will have another 10 days
to have the IID installed by a certified technician.
Many Georgia drivers are now considering petitioning for an IID after a
DUI arrest but it is important to first discuss options with a DUI defense
lawyer. For some people with a strong defense case, it might be the wiser
choice to appeal against the suspension instead.
Georgia BUI Laws
Georgia law states that any individual who operates, navigates, steers,
or drives any moving vessel under the influence of alcohol will be subjected to a
This applies to boating under the influence (BUI) as well. In addition
to driving under the influence, law enforcement officials are always looking
to stop boaters from operating their vessels under the influence of drugs
or alcohol. If you have been arrested and charged with BUI, you could
be facing serious penalties. At my firm, I can fight to protect your rights
and help build a personalized strategy to provide you with the best possible
outcome for your situation.
Underage Drinking in Georgia
Georgia, like the rest of the US, has a legal drinking age of 21 years
old. This means it is illegal for anyone under that age to consume or
possess alcohol. If you are a college student, an underage driver, or any individual who
is facing a DUI charge or penalty, you need to work with Richman Law Firm.
A criminal conviction for
underage drinking could result in fines, jail time, and mandatory alcohol awareness courses.
It could also greatly affect your future. Most universities do not tolerate
underage drinking. You may lose your scholarship, your acceptance may
be rescinded, you could be denied housing, or you may not be allowed to
attend graduation. It is important that you contact
Richman Law Firm right away to protect your future.
Contact A Skilled DUI Attorney in Cumming Today
Many factors could alter your penalties, including refusing to take a breath
or blood test or being involved in an injury-causing accident. In order
to protect your rights, your future, and your driving privileges, it is
important that you contact Richman Law Firm as soon as possible. I can
take the time to fully review your situation and develop a personalized
strategy to help you achieve the best possible resolution to your case.
I served as a senior DUI prosecutor and am
certified in field sobriety testing. I also teach law enforcement about standardized field sobriety laws and
regulations. I can use this experience to ensure that your case receives
a favorable outcome. You have
10 days after an arrest to schedule a hearing that can help protect your license,
and you can have an attorney present. It is recommended that you call
me for help today.
Richman Law Firm
today to schedule a complimentary consultation with an experienced Cumming